Columbus falls in title game

SIOUX CITY - Chris Steward scored four goals and assisted on the other as Mason City High defeated Columbus of Waterloo, 5-3, to win its first state high school hockey championship here Sunday.

Earlier, host Sioux City handed the Waterloo Warriors their second straight overtime defeat on a goal by Steve Nichol 5:17 into the second overtime period to win the third place game, 3-2.

It was Sioux City's first victory over the Warriors in four games this year.

Mason City scored three goals in the final period for its victory, all of them by Steward, who finished secd high in the tournament scoring tabulation. Of his nine points on seven goals and two assists, he had five in the championship game.

The teams were tied, 2-2, after the second period when the Sailors' Andy MacLennan and Jason Bloom scored goals, but Mason City scored the first two goals in the final period to pull away.

"We outshot them 12-4 in the first period and outshot them 11-4 in the second period," said Columbus Coach Mike Brown. "We were all over them. We just couldn't put the puck in net. If we would have scored I think we could have broken it open early.

"We really played well the first two periods - about as well as we could play."

Brown also thought Friday's 3-2 overtime battle with the Waterloo Warriors may have taken a toll on the Sailors in their game with Mason City.

It was a real hard-hitting game, as hard-hitting as we've played in all year," said Brown. "We had just played the Warriors the same type of game the day before and I think in the third period it caught up with us.

Columbus will honor its runner-up team with a trophy presentation program at 1 p.m. Tuesday in the school gymnasium. The public is welcome to attend.

Sioux City scored the first two

goals of the third period to take a 2-1 lead over the Warriors and then Marc Gillard tied it with 7:48 left in the period. It was the last goal in over 20 minutes as the teams battled through the first 10-minute sudden death overtime period scoreless.

Sioux City's goalie, Scott Patrick, wound up as the most valuable player for the tournament. He had an earlier shutout

And Coach John Lloyd of Mason City was named coach of the year. Championship

Mason City 5, Columbus 3 SCORE BY PERIODS

Alumbus SCORE BT PERIODS Aason City 1 3 - 5 FIRST PERIOD - 1. Mason City, Chris Steward (Troy helen, Matt Pete), 13:25. Penaltics, Hannen

FRE PRICE -: A THE CONTROL -: A THE CONTROL -- CONTROL (Col-high sticking), 9:24: Pete (MC-equipment viola-tion), 13:59: Columbus bench (delay-of-game), 13:59: MacLennan (Col-slashing), 14:39: Becker (Col-miscoduct), 15:00

Columbus Mason City.			ON GOA	. 12 1	3 4 -	- 29
Goalies: Co Curtis.	alumbus.	Pat	Lanigan;	Mason	City,	Jeff

Consolation

Sloux City 3, Warriors 2

Score By Perios

Sloux City

Warrior

0
0

PiRST PERIOD

No score

Jimerior

0
2

Store By Period

Nerrior

0
2

Jimerior

0
2

Vitar 0

Jimeriori
0

Jimeriori
0

Jimeriori
0

Jimeriori
0

Jimeriori
0

Jimeriori
0

Station
1

Station
1

Jimeriori
1

Jimeriori
1

Jimeriori
1

Jimeriori
1

Jimeriori
1

Station
1

Station
1

Station
1

Jimeriori
1

Jimeriori
1

Jimeriori
1

Jimeri</t

M. Marsiani, Wu. - roughing). 7.5. Reprose Science 20, pp. 1. Neurosci. Davies, Davies, Marcia Science 20, pp. 1. Neurosci. Davies, Davies, Science 20, pp. 1. Science 20, pp. 1. Neurosci. Davies, Marcia Education, Neurosci. K. Science, Science 20, Pp. Science 20, pp. 100-10, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-50, 4. Marcina, Gillere (Rece Science, Tax, Pp. 100-10, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-20, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-20, pp. 100-100, pp. 100-100

fom O'Brien), 5:17. Penalties, none. Goalies: Sloux City, Scott Patrick; Warriors, Scott Ames

All-State Team

Goaltenders

Scott Patrick (Sioux City), Pat Lanigan (Columbus), Jeff Curtis (Mason City)

Forwards

Pete Dale (Urbandale), Marc Gillard (Warriors), Brian Wehr (Columbus), Trdy Thelen (Mason City), Sean Murdoch (Ames), Tom Meyer (Warriors), Tony Dressen (Valley-Dowling), Del Donaldson (Warriors)

Defensemen

Chuck Armstrong (Valley-Dowling), Reece Bixby (War-riors), Scott Jasper (Columbus), Mike Swartzel (Sioux City), Andy Hubbard (Mason City), Dustin Duea (Mason y), Craig Becker (Columbus)